Broadcast Series

Broadcast Series

Throughout the Season, The Phoenix Symphony partners with Central Sound at Arizona PBS, to record the Phoenix Symphony Classics and Chambers Series for a radio broadcast.

Each fall, Chamber Series performances are featured as part of ArizonaEncore!, which is heard every Tuesday evening at 7 p.m. on 89.5 FM KBACH (Phoenix), DTV 8.5 Classical Arizona PBS and via the “Classical Arizona PBS” mobile app.

The Phoenix Symphony Series airs every March through June. The special broadcast series can be heard Monday evenings at 7 p.m. and is broadcast in DTS Neural Surround™ on 89.5 FM KBACH  (Phoenix) and KNAU-FM - Arizona Public Radio via their classical music network (88.7 FM and 92.3 FM in Flagstaff, 89.3 FM in Kingman, 102.5 FM in Cottonwood and the Verde Valley, 93.5 FM in Payson, 90.7 FM Show Low, 106.1 FM Prescott and 105.3 FM Vernon/Concho). Plus, the broadcast series will be broadcast in discrete surround sound on Digital TV channel 8.5 Classical Arizona PBS

Chamber Series:

November 13
Showcasing The Phoenix Symphony Chamber Series features Concertmaster Steven Moeckel.
Mozart – Concerto No. 5 in A Major, K. 219
Franck – Violin Sonata in A Major
   II. Allegro
Mozart – Violin Sonata in E Minor, K. 304

November 20
An all Mozart program featuring Principal Flute Viviana Cumplido Wilson, Concertmaster Steven Moeckel and Principal Horn Gabriel Kovach.
Mozart – Flute Quartet, K. 285
Mozart – Serenade No. 12 in C Minor, K. 388 (384a)
Mozart – Concerto No. 3 in E-Flat Major for Horn & Orchestra, K. 447

November 27
Resident Conductor Matthew Kasper leads the ensemble in the final Phoenix Symphony Chamber Music Series program which features works of Mozart and Tchaikovsky.
Mozart – “Overture” from The Abduction from the Seraglio, K. 384
Mozart – Divertimento in D, K. 136
Tchaikovsky – Souvenir de Florence, Op. 70 for String Orchestra

Broadcast Series:

Monday, March 11, 2019
Jeffrey Kahane, conductor and piano
Mozart  - Piano Concerto No. 22
Dvorak - Nocturne in B Major  
Bartok - Concerto for Orchestra 

Monday, March 18, 2019
Tito Muñoz, conductor
Maria Valdes, soprano
Rod Gilfry, baritone
Schubert  - Symphony No. 8, “Unfinished”
Brahms - Ein deutsches Requiem  

Monday, March 25, 2019
Tito Muñoz, conductor
Anne Akiko Meyers, violin
Bernstein - Overture to Candide
Adam Schoenberg - Violin Concerto
Rachmaninoff - Symphony No. 2

Monday, April 1, 2019
Tito Muñoz, conductor
The Phoenix Symphony Chorus
Perry - Short Piece for Orchestra
Barber - Toccata Festiva
Beethoven - Symphony No. 9, Op. 125

Monday, April 8, 2019
David Danzmayr, conductor
Drew Peterson, piano
Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 23
Mozart - Symphony No. 36 “Linz”, K. 425
Strauss Jr. - Kaiser-Walzer (Emperor Waltz), Op. 437

Monday, April 15, 2019
Tito Muñoz, conductor
Rachel Barton Pine, violin
Kahane – Nocturama
Paganini - Violin Concerto No. 1
Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 4, Op. 36

Monday, April 22, 2019
Case Scaglione, conductor
Steven Moeckel, violin
Rouse - Prospero’s Rooms
Britten - Violin Concerto, Op. 15
Elgar - Enigma Variations, Op. 36

Monday, April 29, 2019
Tito Muñoz, conductor
Jeremy Denk, piano
Andres - Everything Happens So Much
Mozart - Piano Concerto No. 12, K. 414
Dvorak - Symphony No. 9 “From the New World”, Op. 95

Monday, May 6, 2019
Tito Muñoz, conductor
Alexander Laing, clarinet
Mozart - Overture to Don Giovanni, K. 527
Mozart - Clarinet Concerto, K. 622
Mozart - Symphony No. 40 “Jupiter”, K. 551 

Monday, May 13, 2019
Tito Muñoz, conductor
Jennifer Koh, violin
Haydn - Symphony No. 69 “Laudon”, Hob. 1/69
Salonen - Violin Concerto
Beethoven - Symphony No. 6 “Pastoral”, Op. 68

Monday, May 20, 2019
Tito Muñoz, conductor
Stephen Hough, piano
Beethoven - Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 15
R. Strauss - Ein Heldenleben (A Hero’s Life), Op. 40

Monday, May 27, 2019
Tito Muñoz, conductor
Amy Dickson, saxophone
Clyne - Within Her Arms
Glass - Violin Concerto No. 1, arr. for saxophone by Dickson
Stravinsky - Symphony in Three Movements
Gershwin - American in Paris

Monday, June 3, 2019
Tito Muñoz, conductor
Giora Schmidt, violin
Piazzolla - Cuatro Estaciones Portenas (The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires)
Price - Symphony No. 1

Radio broadcasts are presented in DTS Neural Surround™. (DTV broadcasts are presented in Dolby Digital discrete surround sound.) This technology enables the broadcast team to deliver the performances in immersive surround sound, bringing the experience of sitting in the best seat of the Symphony Hall directly to listeners.